India News

Banamalipur Election Result: Fierce fight between BJP-Congress on Banamalipur seat, Biplab Deb won it, will the lotus bloom again? learn


Biplab Kumar Deb won the 2018 election on a BJP ticket
This time Gopal Chandra Roy of Congress is giving a tough challenge against Rajib Bhattacharjee.
TMC is becoming an obstacle for BJP to return to the seat

Banamalipur Assembly Election Result 2023 Live Updates: Voting was held on February 16 for all 60 assembly seats in the northeastern state of Tripura. Which party will get the majority in these elections this time, it will be decided only after the results of the coming elections on March 2. Banamalipur Assembly Seat is one of the special seats of Tripura. Everyone’s keen eyes are fixed on this. Counting is going to start in a short while on Banamalipur seat. You can see the live trends of this seat here.

CPM-Congress are contesting together on Banamalipur seat. Because of this, the Congress fielded Gopal Chandra Roy (GOPAL CHANDRA ROY) in the election fray. There is a tough fight between BJP’s Rajib Bhattacharjee (RAJIB BHATTACHARJEE), Trinamool Congress’s Santanu Saha (SANTANU SAHA), and two independent candidates Brijalal Debnath (BRAJALAL DEBNATH) and Sujata Dutta (SUJATA DATTA).

Banamalipur Election 2023: Congress was winning the Banamalipur seat for 35 years, BJP made a dent, former CM Biplab Deb won it

The special thing is that in the 2018 elections, former CM of the state Biplab Kumar Deb defeated Amal Chakraborty by a margin of 9,549 votes. BJP’s Biplab Kumar Deb got 21,755 votes while CPM’s Amal Chakraborty got only 12,206 votes in second place. Congress’s Gopal Chandra was at number three who got only 832 votes. It is worth noting that Congress had won all the 8 elections in 1967, 1983, 1988, 1993, 1998, 2003, 2008, 2013. But BJP’s Biplab Deb opened his account for the first time after 30 years of Congress rule on this seat. Now the challenge of returning to the seat remains in front of him.

Let us tell that the state of Tripura, which is considered to be dominated by the Left party, came under the control of BJP in 2018. Before 2018, even once between 1988-93, the Left was out of power. In all other assembly elections, the Left has maintained its supremacy. In 2018, the BJP and the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) alliance won 44 of the 60 seats in Tripura. BJP got 36 seats while IPFT was occupying 8 seats.

Interestingly, this alliance had won all the 20 reserved tribal (ST) assembly seats in the state. The total number of voters in this eight district state is 28,23,882. There are 13,98,825 women voters in this. While the number of transgender voters is 77. This time the voters have done bumper voting with 86 percent.

Tags: assembly elections, Tripura, Tripura Assembly Election

Back to top button