India News

BJP returns with record victory in Gujarat, Congress crosses majority in Himachal

Assembly Election Results 2022: Counting of votes is underway for the Himachal Pradesh and Gujarat assembly elections. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), moving towards a huge majority in Gujarat, has so far won 120 seats and its candidates are leading in 36 seats. Whereas in Himachal Pradesh, the Congress has crossed the majority mark. Congress has won 35 candidates and is leading in 5 seats.

According to the figures of the Election Commission till 5 pm, BJP has got more than 52 percent votes in the counting of votes in Gujarat so far. BJP seems to be moving towards victory in 156 seats. Congress has won 11 seats and its candidates are ahead in 6 seats. Aam Aadmi Party has won 4 seats and is leading in one seat.

BJP’s record victory in Gujarat

In 2002, the BJP had won the maximum 127 seats. At that time Narendra Modi was the Chief Minister of the state. After this BJP could never reach that figure, but this time it looks like it can surpass its previous best performance. The party is also moving towards breaking the record of 149 seats won by the Congress in 1985 under the leadership of Madhavsinh Solanki. Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel has won the election from Ghatlodia seat. Minister of State for Home Harsh Shanghvi has also won the election from Surat’s Majura seat by a margin of 1.16 lakh votes.

News Reels

Bhupendra Patel will take oath as CM on December 12.

Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel credited this performance of BJP to Prime Minister Modi and said that the people of the state rejected the anti-national elements in the elections. Gujarat BJP President CR Patil said that Bhupendra Patel will continue as Chief Minister and he will take oath on December 12. Union Home Minister Amit Shah said that the people of Gujarat have given an unprecedented mandate to the Narendra Modi-led BJP, dedicated to development and public welfare, by rejecting the politics of hollow promises, revelry and appeasement.

Custom has not changed in Himachal Pradesh

On the other hand, because of maintaining the tradition of changing the government every five years on behalf of the people of Himachal Pradesh, Congress seems to be getting a clear edge in this assembly elections. According to the data available on the website of the Election Commission, the Congress has won 38 seats in the 68-member assembly and is ahead in 2 seats. BJP has won 18 seats and is ahead in 7 seats. Independent candidates have won three seats. No seat is visible in the Aam Aadmi Party’s share. He contested on 67 seats. In Himachal Pradesh, 76.44 percent polling was recorded. There were a total of 412 candidates in Himachal, including 24 women and 99 independents.

read this also-

Election Result 2022: PM Modi’s first statement on BJP’s record victory in Gujarat, also mentioned Himachal

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button