India News

Gujarat Election 2022: Most of the defector leaders of Congress won on BJP ticket

Ahmedabad, Most of the former Congress leaders who joined the Bharatiya Janata Party were successful in winning the 2022 Gujarat Assembly elections. Apart from former Congress Working President Hardik Patel, the BJP fielded the son of a former Congress MLA along with 12 former Congress MLAs. Out of these 14, all except 3 won the election.

However, there are some exceptions to these as well. Former Congressman Harshad Ribadia, who joined BJP, was defeated by Bhupendra Bhayani of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) from Visavadar seat. Jawahar Chavda, who had resigned as a Congress MLA in March 2019 and won the subsequent bypolls on a BJP ticket, lost to Arvind Ladani of the Congress by nearly 3,000 votes.

BJP got victory here

At the same time, Imran Khedawala of the Congress is the only Muslim candidate to be elected in the recently concluded 182-member Gujarat assembly elections, in which the ruling BJP won a landslide victory. There were three Muslim MLAs in the previous assembly, all from the Congress. Sitting from Jamalpur-Khadia Assembly Constituency of Ahmedabad City Congress MLA Khedawala retained his seat by winning the election with a margin of 13,658 votes.

read this also: BJP increased from 57 seats, then Congress was limited to 60 seats, see in the map how much Gujarat changed from 2017-2022

He defeated his nearest rival Bhushan Bhatt of the BJP in the Muslim-dominated constituency, where All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) state president and former MLA Sabir Kabliwala was also in the fray.

Tags: Gujarat Election, gujarat news

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button