HomeIndia NewsGujarat elections: Hardik Patel, Alpesh Thakor to get tickets? BJP is...

Gujarat elections: Hardik Patel, Alpesh Thakor to get tickets? BJP is brainstorming on the candidate list


BJP’s Central Election Committee held a meeting
Brainstorming on the list of candidates of Gujarat
Discussion on many names, list will be released soon

New Delhi. In the meeting of the Central Election Committee of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which began on Wednesday evening, the party brainstormed on finalizing the names of its candidates for the Gujarat Assembly elections. The names of Hardik Patel and Alpesh Thakor, who left the Congress and joined the BJP, are being considered fixed among the possible candidates. Senior leaders including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, party president JP Nadda and Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Gujarat Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel attended the meeting of the Central Election Committee at the BJP headquarters.

Sources said that Hardik Patel and Alpesh Thakor are likely to get party tickets. Patel can be given ticket from Viramgam in Ahmedabad. He said that the name of Rivaba Jadeja, wife of cricketer Ravindra Jadeja, is in the list of possible candidates. Former MLA from BJP Morbi Kantilal Amrit can be given ticket. According to reports, Kantilal Amrit had jumped into the river to save people in a recent bridge accident in Morbi in which more than 130 people died.

BJP’s list will be released in next few days

The BJP is aiming to register a victory in Gujarat for the seventh time in a row. Voting for the Gujarat Assembly elections will be held in two phases on December 1 and 5. It is understood that the BJP may finalize the names of all the 182 candidates during the meeting and release the list in the next few days. Sources said that the party organization is putting all its strength and energy to create a new record in terms of winning seats in the elections. In view of this, the possibility of keeping many senior leaders out of the list cannot be ruled out.

Doubt over all the sitting MLAs getting tickets again

Sources also said that the party has received suggestions that it should choose fresh and young faces. Former Chief Minister Vijay Rupani, former Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel, senior leaders Bhupinder Singh Chudasama and Pradeep Singh Jadeja have already announced not to contest the elections. In the last assembly elections in the state, the BJP had won 99 seats and its main rival Congress 77. The number of BJP members in the assembly has gone up to 111 due to the change of defection of several Congress MLAs and it is unlikely that the BJP will give re-tickets to all the sitting MLAs. This time a new challenge has arisen in front of the BJP and Congress due to the entry of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in the Gujarat Assembly elections.

Tags:, BJP, Gujarat Elections



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments