India News

Meghalaya Elections: BJP will contest elections alone, announced candidates, gave slogan of ‘Strong Meghalaya’

New Delhi. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday announced the names of its candidates for all the 60 seats in the state in view of the elections to the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly to be held at the end of February. In a press conference held at the BJP headquarters, the party’s national secretary Rituraj Sinha and Meghalaya unit president Ernest Mowry announced the names of the candidates. Sinha said that for the first time in Meghalaya, BJP will contest all 60 seats on its own.

These names were finalized in the BJP’s Central Election Committee (CEC) meeting on Wednesday in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and chaired by National President JP Nadda. All the members of the party’s CEC including Union Home Minister Amit Shah and Defense Minister Rajnath Singh were present in this meeting.

Voting for the Meghalaya Assembly elections will be held on February 27. The last date for filing nominations is February 7. The counting of votes will be done on March 2. In the last assembly elections, the BJP fielded its candidates on 47 seats and it won only two seats. Its candidates were second in seven seats and third in 12 seats.

Tags: assembly elections, BJP, congress, Meghalaya

Related Articles

Back to top button