India News

Nagaland Election: NDPP and BJP released names of candidates, 16 sitting MLAs cut off

Kohima: In Nagaland, the ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) announced the names of candidates for 40 seats for the assembly elections, while its ally Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has fielded candidates for 20 seats. Both the parties cut the tickets of 16 sitting MLAs. The NDPP and the BJP are contesting the elections to the 60-member assembly in alliance for the second time in a row. Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio is the NDPP candidate from North Angami-II seat, while former chief minister T.R. Will contest from Zeliang Peren seat. While Minister Kaito Aye will try his luck from Satkha seat and NDPP has given ticket to former Rajya Sabha MP KG Kenye from Chizami seat.

The NDPP had won 18 seats in the 2018 elections and won three more seats in the subsequent by-elections, taking its tally to 21. But in April last year, with the merger of 21 MLAs of the Naga People’s Front (NPF), its strength doubled to 42. Under the seat-sharing agreement with the BJP, the NDPP has got 40 seats while the BJP has fielded candidates for 20 seats. NDPP has cut tickets for a total of 15 MLAs. Apart from this, 12 MLAs of NPF who joined NDPP have also been denied tickets.

List of BJP Candidates for Nagaland Assembly Elections

read this also- Russia Ukraine War- As if we are fighting with ‘zombie’! Sensational disclosure of Ukrainian soldier about Putin’s dreaded army

At the same time, BJP has again expressed confidence in 11 of its 12 MLAs. Deputy Chief Minister Y Patton has been given ticket from Tui seat while State BJP President Temjen Imna Along has been nominated from Alontki seat. BJP’s national spokesperson M Kikon will contest from Bhandari seat. Major political parties like Naga People’s Front (NPF) and Congress are yet to announce their candidates. Janata Dal (U) has announced two candidates. In this, the party’s state president NSN Lotha has been nominated from Tui and general secretary Kitoho S Rotokha from Ghasapani-II. Elections are to be held in Nagaland on February 27 and counting of votes will take place on March 2.

Tags: BJP, bjp president jp nadda, Kiren Rijiju, Nagaland Assembly Election

Related Articles

Back to top button