India News

Revolt for the fourth time in the 56-year history of Shiv Sena, for the first time such a situation in front of Uddhav

Mumbai. Despite being a party of cadres committed to leadership, the Shiv Sena has not been immune to rebellions from office-bearers and the party has faced revolts from its key functionaries on four occasions. Three of these revolts took place during the time of Bal Thackeray, the ‘charismatic founder’ of Shiv Sena. Eknath Shinde is the latest leader to revolt in the party.

The rebellion by Shinde, a cabinet minister who rebelled with a group of Shiv Sena MLAs, is the most significant in the party’s 56-year history as it threatened the collapse of the party-led Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) government in Maharashtra. Is.

First major setback to Shiv Sena in 1991
On the other hand, there have been other rebellions in Shiv Sena when the party was not in power in the state. The present uprising started taking shape after midnight on Monday after the Legislative Council election results. This has posed a big challenge to Maharashtra Chief Minister and Shiv Sena President Uddhav Thackeray, as the last three rebellions took place when his father Bal Thackeray was present.

The first major setback to the Shiv Sena was in 1991 when Chhagan Bhujbal, the party’s Other Backward Class (OBC) face, decided to leave the party. Bhujbal is also credited with expanding the organization’s base in the rural areas of Maharashtra. Bhujbal had cited “non-appreciation” from the party leadership as the reason for leaving the party.

Bhujbal quit the party along with 18 Shiv Sena MLAs
Bhujbal had helped the Shiv Sena win a large number of seats in parts of Maharashtra, but despite that, Bal Thackeray appointed Manohar Joshi as the Leader of the Opposition in the Assembly. In the winter session in Nagpur, Bhujbal had quit the party along with 18 Shiv Sena MLAs and announced his support to the Congress, which was ruling the state at that time. However, 12 rebel MLAs returned to Shiv Sena the same day. Bhujbal and the other rebel MLAs were recognized as a separate group by the then Speaker of the Assembly and did not face any action.

Bhujbal was also attacked
A senior political journalist said, it was an audacious move as Shiv Sena workers were known for their aggressive approach (towards dissent). They also attacked Chhagan Bhujbal’s official residence in Mumbai, which is usually guarded by the state police force. Bhujbal, however, lost in the 1995 assembly elections from Mumbai to the then Shiv Sena leader Bala Nandgaonkar. The veteran leader later joined the NCP when Sharad Pawar floated his party after leaving the Congress in 1999. Bhujbal (74) is currently a minister in the Shiv Sena-led MVA government and a cabinet colleague of Shinde.

Narayan Rane left Shiv Sena in 2005
In 2005, the Shiv Sena faced another challenge when former Chief Minister Narayan Rane left the party and joined the Congress. Rane later left the Congress and is currently a Rajya Sabha member of the BJP and is also a Union Minister.

Cousin Raj Thackeray separated in 2006
The next setback for the Shiv Sena came in 2006 when Uddhav Thackeray’s cousin Raj Thackeray decided to quit the party and form his own political outfit – the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS). Raj Thackeray had then said that his fight was not with the Shiv Sena leadership, but with others around the party leadership. In 2009, the MNS had won 13 seats in the elections to the 288-member Maharashtra Legislative Assembly. Its number in Mumbai was one more than that of Shiv Sena.

Ignoring the expectations of the leaders is the reason for the rebellion
Shiv Sena is currently facing revolt by some party MLAs led by Eknath Shinde, a senior state minister, a four-time MLA from Thane district and popular in the organisation. Political journalist Prakash Akolkar said, “The Shiv Sena leadership is taking some of its leaders lightly. Such an attitude has always backfired, but the party is not ready to change its stand. He said, ‘Now the times have changed and most of the MLAs come to the party with great expectations. If those expectations are not met properly, then such a rebellion is bound to happen.

Shiv Sena currently has 55 MLAs, NCP 53 and Congress 44. All three are constituents of the MVA. The opposition BJP has 106 seats in the assembly. Shinde needs the support of 37 MLAs to avoid disqualification under the anti-defection law. The rebel leader has claimed that 46 MLAs of Shiv Sena are with him.

Tags: BJP, Congress, Maharashtra, NCP, Shivsena


Related Articles

Back to top button