India News

Tripura Election- Agreement on seat sharing, BJP will contest on 55 seats and IPFT on 5, understand the math?

Agartala: The Tripura unit of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has finalized the seat-sharing deal with old ally Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) for the February 16 assembly elections, giving five seats to its ally, which It is four less than the seat it got in the 2018 elections. Announcing the alliance, Chief Minister Manik Saha said in a press conference here that the BJP will contest on 55 seats.

The chief minister will contest from Bardovali (city), the seat he won in the bypolls held last year. Earlier in the day, in New Delhi, the BJP released the first list of 48 candidates for the Tripura Assembly elections, fielding 11 women, including Union minister Pratima Bhowmik.

Read this also- Tripura Election 2023: BJP fielded these ministers again in the election fray, their ticket got stuck, know who, from where will contest the election?

Saha said that the names of the remaining seven candidates will be announced later. The list was announced on Saturday, while only two days are left for filing nominations.

Tags: Tripura, Tripura Assembly Election, Tripura Politics

Related Articles

Back to top button