HomeIndia NewsVice President Election: Know why Jagdeep Dhankhar's victory is believed to be...

Vice President Election: Know why Jagdeep Dhankhar’s victory is believed to be decided, results will come this evening


The electoral college consists of 780 votes for the Vice Presidential election.
NDA has 462 votes, out of which 394 votes are from BJP alone.
It is expected that the opposition candidate Margaret Alva can get more than 200 votes.

New Delhi. Elections are going to be held today for the Vice President of the country, in which the NDA candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar, the former Governor of West Bengal, seems to be in full swing. If Jagdeep Dhankhar wins, he will become the 14th Vice President of India. Jagdeep Dhankhar’s victory is also believed to be certain because the NDA has enough votes in both the houses of Parliament. The voting process will run from 10 am to evening on Saturday. After this, by late evening, the Returning Officer will announce the result of the Vice Presidential election. Almost all parties have declared their support for Jagdeep Dhankhar and Margaret Alva, the opposition-sponsored candidate for the vice-presidential election.

According to a Hindustan Times report, the Trinamool Congress (TMC), the largest opposition party in the country after the Congress, is adamant on its decision to stay away from the election, which has further reduced Alva’s chances of winning the election. The electoral college for the Vice Presidential election comprises 780 votes, including 543 elected Lok Sabha MPs and 237 Rajya Sabha members. Explain that unlike the presidential election, legislators do not vote in the vice-presidential election. The BJP, which leads the NDA, alone has 394 MPs, including 303 in the Lok Sabha and 91 in the Rajya Sabha. Overall, Dhankhar is likely to get 525 votes, including 462 for the NDA. It also includes the votes of 12 rebel MPs of Shiv Sena.

The ruling government has also received support from Andhra Pradesh’s ruling YSRCP (31 MPs), Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (11) and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal (21 MPs). Dhankhar is set to win the election on Saturday and is expected to take oath as the Vice President on August 10. However, he may not be able to preside over the Rajya Sabha in the ongoing monsoon session. Meanwhile, the vice-presidential candidate Alva has got the support of several regional parties including Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM). Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM has also extended its support to the opposition’s Vice Presidential candidate Alva. It is expected that Alva can get more than 200 votes.

Tags: Jagdeep Dhankar, NDA


- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments