It’s a matter of work! Change in tax slab, how many times taxpayers can switch between new and old tax regime, know the rules

New Delhi. Taxpayers who waited for a long time have got a big relief in the budget this time. The government has kept those earning less than 7 lakhs out of the purview of income tax. Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman said in Parliament that now those earning less than 7 lakhs will not have to pay any income tax. However, this benefit will be available only to those opting for the new tax regime. At the same time, income tax will not be levied on all people with income up to Rs 3 lakh. The Finance Minister introduced a new income tax slab in the budget. Let us inform that in the year 2020, the Finance Minister had given the option of New Tax Regime for taxpayers. Taxpayers were given some additional exemptions in the new tax system. The new tax system is applicable from 1 April 2020.

But those earning more than Rs 60 lakh may find the new tax regime beneficial, while people in the lower income group who claim multiple deductions still prefer the old tax regime. The people of the country can choose the new and the old system as per their wish, but the rules have been made separately for both.

read this also: There will be rain of money, when you invest in LIC’s Dhanvarsha, just have to save a little money

Employed person can switch every year
Taxpayers can move from old tax slab to new slab and they can come back from new slab to old slab. However, this exemption is only for certain categories of taxpayers. In which employed persons are included. Salaried individuals can switch tax slabs every financial year. Those who have income from salary, rent or other sources can change the tax slab every time.

businessman can only once
Taxpayers earning income from business will have only one chance to choose either the new or the old regime. If you have income from business then you can shift only once. Businessmen once switched can’t come back. The income of taxpayers earning from consultancy comes under business.

read this also: Multibagger Stocks: This company made 67 lakhs from 1 lakh in just 2 years, seems to be upper circuit for 9 consecutive days

Tax will not have to be paid up to 7 lakhs
Along with this, the rebate limit has been increased from Rs 5 lakh to Rs 7 lakh in the new and old tax slabs in the budget. This means that now no tax will be levied till the earning of Rs 7 lakh. Apart from the rebate, the direct tax exemption has also been increased by Rs 50,000. That is, earlier where there was a direct tax exemption of up to 2.5 lakhs, it has now been reduced to Rs 3 lakhs.

This change happened in the slab
The government has also changed the tax slab under the new regime. Now the 25% slab has been abolished. Earlier, those earning Rs 12,50,001 to Rs 15 lakh had to pay 25 percent tax, but now the income of Rs 12,00,001 to Rs 15 lakh has been kept in the 20 percent slab. Apart from this, now those earning more than Rs 15 lakh have been placed directly in the 30 percent slab.

Tags: Budget, business news in hindi, income tax, income tax planning, income tax return, income tax slabs

Related Articles

Back to top button