Sunday, July 21, 2024
HomeSports NewsBCCI has recommended this player's name for a big award, these players...

BCCI has recommended this player’s name for a big award, these players are also included in the list

Image Source : GETTY
Indian Cricket Team

Arjuna Award: Indian team’s star fast bowler Mohammed Shami has performed well for Team India for some time. He has won many matches for the Indian team on his own. It was because of him that Team India was successful in reaching the final of ODI World Cup 2023. Team India had to face defeat by 6 wickets against Australia in the final of ODI World Cup 2023. But now considering Shami’s performance, he has been nominated for a big award.

This player got nominated

The Indian Cricket Board has recommended the name of fast bowler Mohammed Shami, who performed brilliantly in the ODI World Cup, for this year’s Arjuna Award. This 33 year old fast bowler had performed brilliantly in the recently concluded ODI World Cup. According to Sports Ministry sources, BCCI made a special request to include Shami’s name in the list. Earlier his name was not included in the list of players nominated for the country’s second highest sports award. Shami took the most wickets in the ODI World Cup. He had taken 24 wickets in only seven matches. After being out of the first four matches, when Shami got a chance, he took full advantage of it.

Apart from Mohammed Shami, 16 more players have been nominated. These include men’s hockey players Krishna Bahadur Pathak and Sushila Chanu, archers Ojas Praveen Deotale and Aditi Gopichand Swamy, boxer Mohammad Hussamuddin, chess player R Vaishali, golfer Diksha Dagar, shooter Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar, wrestler Anant Panghal and table tennis player Ayhika Mukherjee. .

This committee will decide the award

The Sports Ministry has constituted a 12-member committee to decide this year’s Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Award. Retired Supreme Court judge AM Khanwilkar will head this committee. Apart from him, hockey player Dhanraj Pillay, former table tennis player Kamlesh Mehta, former boxer Akhil Kumar, women shooter and current national coach Shuma Shirur, former cricketer Anjum Chopra, badminton player Trupti Murgunde and powerlifter Farman Pasha are also included in the committee.

These players were nominated

Major Dhyanchand Khel Ratna Award: Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty (badminton).

Arjun Award: Mohammed Shami (cricket), Ajay Reddy (visually impaired cricket), Ojas Praveen Deotale, Aditi Gopichand Swamy (archery), Sheetal Devi (para archery), Parul Choudhary and M Sreeshankar (athletics), Mohammed Hussamuddin (boxing), R Vaishali (chess). ), Divyakriti Singh and Anush Agarwal (horse riding), Deeksha Dagar (golf), Krishna Bahadur Pathak and Sushila Chanu (hockey), Pinky (lawn ball), Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar (shooting), Anand Panghal (wrestling), Ayhika Mukherjee ( Table Tennis).

Dhyanchand Jeevan Life Time Award: Kavita (Kabaddi), Manjusha Kanwar (Badminton) Vineet Kumar Sharma (Hockey).

Dronacharya Award: Ganesh Prabhakaran (Mallakhamb), Mahavir Saini (Para Athletics), Lalit Kumar (Wrestling), RB Ramesh (Chess), Shivendra Singh (Hockey).

(Input: PTI)

Also read:

Big crisis looms over third T20 match between IND vs SA, this update suddenly came out

Board announced selection committee, this player became chief selector

Latest Cricket News


Most Popular

Recent Comments