Sunday, July 14, 2024
HomeSports NewsCPL: Entry of new team in T20 league, now this champion team...

CPL: Entry of new team in T20 league, now this champion team will not play – India TV Hindi

Image Source : GETTY
jamaica talawab

CPL 2024: The Caribbean Premier League will start from August 28. A new team has been added for this tournament. A new franchise named Antigua and Barbuda Falcons will be seen playing in the 12th season of the Caribbean Premier League. After the exit of Jamaica Tallawahs, a new franchise has got a chance. The announcement was made on Tuesday, February 20 at North Sound’s Sir Vivian Richards Stadium.

The league was looking for a new team

Earlier, Jamaica Tallawahs owner Chris Persaud, a Florida-based businessman, had informed CPL that he was no longer in a position to continue managing the Tallawahs due to lack of profits. Therefore, the CPL organizing committee decided to remove the franchise and had planned to replace it with another franchise.

Worldwide Sports Management Group owns the Antigua and Barbuda Falcons. Interestingly, Persaud is also associated with Worldwide Sports Management Group and believes that the addition of Antigua and Barbuda Falcons will bring a different kind of energy to the CPL.

Cricbuzz quoted Persaud as saying that we are brand new; We’re here, we’re ready… let’s get ready to play! The Antigua and Barbuda Falcons will bring a different kind of energy and power to the CPL. We are ready to fly high and conquer whatever is in front of us. We want to instill a winning spirit within the team and also instill an ethos of winning and success off the field among everyone associated with this franchise and the fans at our special home base at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium.

There will be a big responsibility on the team

The 2024 season of the Caribbean Premier League will run from August 28 to October 6. Talking about Jamaica Tallawahs, they had won three out of the 11 seasons played since 2013. Antigua and Barbuda Falcons, who will play from this season in place of the champion teams of 2013, 2016 and 2022, will have a big responsibility to perform brilliantly.

Read also

Changes in Team India for the fourth test, Noor Ahmed banned for 12 months, see 10 big sports news

IND vs ENG: Captain Rohit will create history in Ranchi! Rahul will leave Dravid behind in this special record

Latest Cricket News


Most Popular

Recent Comments