HomeSportsAsia Cup 2022: KL Rahul as vice-captain, Virat Kohli also back; ...

Asia Cup 2022: KL Rahul as vice-captain, Virat Kohli also back; Know- Who got a place in Team India, who is out?


15-man squad announced for Asia Cup-2022, Rahul got vice-captaincy
4 spinners – Ravindra Jadeja, Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi and Yuzvendra got a chance
Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel and Deepak Chahar – inducted as standby cricketers

New Delhi. The Indian team for the upcoming Asia Cricket Cup-2022 was announced on Monday. In this tournament, Team India will be led by experienced opener Rohit Sharma. The Senior Selection Committee of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the 15-member squad after a meeting on Monday. Veteran batsmen Virat Kohli and KL Rahul have returned to the team. Rahul has been appointed the vice-captain of the team. At the same time, 3 players have been included in the team as standby.

Former captain Virat Kohli, who was battling poor form, was rested for the tour of Zimbabwe and West Indies, but now he has returned to the team, which was also considered fixed. At the same time, star batsman KL Rahul, who was out of the team due to injury and then Corona virus, has also returned. He had a sports hernia surgery in June, after which he has not been able to play. Young left arm pacer Arshdeep Singh’s name was also being considered in the team for the Asia Cup. Arshdeep was recently adjudged man of the series in T20 against West Indies.

See also, Jasprit Bumrah out of Asia Cup, injury information received just before team announcement

Captain Rohit Sharma and coach Rahul Dravid joined the selectors from Florida in this meeting. Meanwhile, Jasprit Bumrah could not find a place due to a back injury and has been rested in view of the T20 World Cup. Apart from him, Harshal Patel had already been ruled out of the Asia Cup due to a rib injury. Both the players will undergo rehabilitation at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru.

Deepak Hooda has been rewarded for his good performance and has been included in the team. At the same time, Kerala cricketer Sanju Samson was once again disappointed and he could not get a place in the team. 4 spinners Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi and experienced Ravichandran Ashwin have been given a chance in the team.

This tournament, to be held in T20 format, will be played in the UAE from August 27. Earlier it was to be held in Sri Lanka but due to the poor economic condition, it was decided to shift it to UAE. The final match of the tournament will be played on September 11.

Indian team for Asia Cup 2022 – Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (WK), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh and Avesh Khan.

Standby player- Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel and Deepak Chahar.

Tags: Asia cup, Hindi Cricket News, Indian Cricket Team, KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli


- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments