HomeSportsBallon d'Or 2022: Karim Benzema wins Ballon d'Or award for the first...

Ballon d’Or 2022: Karim Benzema wins Ballon d’Or award for the first time, Ronaldo’s worst ranking in 17 years

Paris: Star footballer Karim Benzema, who performed brilliantly when he won the Champions League and Spanish League La Liga titles last season with Real Madrid, won the men’s Ballon d’Or title for the first time. Ronaldo, who won this award 5 times, finished 20th. Spain’s Alexia Putelas once again stunned Barcelona to win the women’s trophy for the second year in a row on Monday.

Such was the performance of Benzema

Last season was Benzema’s best for Madrid. He was the top scorer in both the Champions League and the Spanish League. He scored 44 goals for Madrid, 15 of which he scored in the Champions League, Europe’s top club competition. He equaled second-ranked Ral Gonzalez in the club’s list of most goalscorers. The record for scoring the most goals for the team is held by the legendary player Cristiano Ronaldo.

Benzema, thirty-four, is the oldest player since Stanley Mathews to receive the award, first given in 1956. Benzema said, ‘For me age is just a number. Players now play longer and I still have the will to play. Because of this will power, I never gave up.

Mane and De Brun beat

Benzema beat Sadio Mane and Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne in the race for the prize. Mane played for Liverpool last season but joined Bayern Munich for this season. For the first time, the Ballon d’Or award was given on the basis of the achievements of the previous season. Earlier this award was given on the basis of performance in the calendar year.

The award is given by the French football magazine Belon d’Or. In the male category, this award is being given for 66 years. The women’s trophy started in 2018 but was canceled in 2020 due to the pandemic. Alexia, who plays for the women’s team of Spain and Barcelona, ​​scored 42 goals last season and scored 22 goals. She is the first female player to win this award for the second time.

Alexia won the Spanish League title last season with Barcelona while his team reached the final of the Champions League. He has been away from football since July due to a knee injury on his left leg. Alexia beat Arsenal’s Ben Mead and Chelsea’s Sam Kerr in the race for the prize.

The Copa trophy for the best Under-21 player was awarded to 18-year-old Barcelona midfielder Gavi. Robert Lewandowski received the Gerd Mueller Trophy for the best striker of the year. Real Madrid’s Thibaut Courtois was voted the best goalkeeper.

Times of India Sports Award 2021: Neeraj Chopra won 2 trophies while PV Sindhu best shuttler, these players also praisedUnder-17 Women’s FIFA World Cup, Indian team’s campaign ended, lost to Brazil in the third matchMS Dhoni: Dhoni will blow the neck in IPL 2023, started preparing for 6 months in advance, made CSK the champion



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments