Big change in cricket, now 5 consecutive overs from each end, instead of 10, the team has only 6 wickets

St. Kitts. Fans will now get to see a new type of cricket on the cricket field. Before the 10th season of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL), a T10 tournament named The Sixty is being organized. Preparations are being made to organize such an event every 3 months. That is, 4 times a year. 3 in West Indies and one abroad. The first season is being organized in St Kitts from 24 to 28 August. In this, each team will have only 6 wickets. 5 consecutive overs will be bowled from one end. Legendary batsman Chris Gayle has been made its brand ambassador. In this, all 6 teams of men’s category and total 3 teams of women’s category will be included. Its rules are special. In such a situation, it can give a different thrill to the fans.

CPL CEO Pete Russell told Cricinfo, the bowlers will benefit from the new type of conditions. This will ensure that they don’t just come out to kill. Some people will say that this is not cricket. But I believe cricket is the most important element of it. He said that it is only to try to create excitement and interest, as is happening with golf right now. You have to look at things in a different way sometimes. It’s all about the new fans.

Organizing with the Board

The tournament will begin in partnership with Cricket West Indies, which has become the first full member board to start a T10 tournament. Russell said that we are doing CPL ourselves. We have an agreement with the board. This league is different. It is known that T10 league is being organized in many places in West Indies. He told that this is the most perfect place for this league. He is fit according to the way Caribbean cricket is played. The ODI series between West Indies and New Zealand ends on August 21. After this the players will be free for this league. However, during this time the matches of The Hundred will also go on. It is known that West Indies players play the most T20 matches in the world.

Players of India and Pakistan will play T20 World Cup with one team, chance for more than half a dozen

INDW vs SLW: Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet close to creating history in T20, India-Sri Lanka clash from tomorrow

The Sixty’s Special Rules

-Each batting team will have 6 wickets instead of 10. That is, the innings ends after the fall of 6 wickets.

If the batting team is successful in hitting 2 sixes in the powerplay of the first 2 overs, then it can use the powerplay of the third over at any time according to its own.

Teams will bowl 5 consecutive overs from each end. Not that the end will be changed after every over.

-If teams fail to bowl their 10 overs within 45 minutes, a fielder for the last 6 balls will be removed.

-Fans will be able to vote for mystery free hits through the app or website.

Tags: Caribbean premier league, Chris Gayle, ICC, West indies


Related Articles

Back to top button