Captain made at the age of 14, won the first World Cup for West Indies by scoring a century in the final

New Delhi. Clive Lloyd This name is taken with great respect in the cricket world. Under his captaincy, West Indies won the title of the first season of the ODI World Cup on this day i.e. June 21, 1975. The team defeated Australia in the final by 17 runs in a close match. Lloyd also scored a century in this match. This match was of 60-60 overs. Playing first, West Indies scored 291 runs for 8 wickets. Lloyd played an excellent innings of 102 runs. In reply, Australia’s team was reduced to 274 runs in the 59th over. As a fast bowler, Lloyd also took a wicket in the match and became the player of the match. He also had three run outs.

Clive Lloyd grew up watching Gary Sauber’s cricket. He was made the captain of the school team at the age of 14. In the final, Australia captain Ian Chappell won the toss and elected to bowl. His bowlers also got the team off to a good start. West Indies lost 3 wickets for 50 runs. Roy Fredericks 7, Gordon Greenidge 13 and Alvin Kalicharan got out after scoring 12 runs.

Lloyd and Rohan’s great partnership

After the fall of 3 wickets for 50 runs, Clive Lloyd and Rohan Kanhai took over the team. Both added 149 runs for the fourth wicket. Kanhai got out after scoring 55 runs off 105 balls. Lloyd scored 102 off 85 balls. Hit 12 fours and 2 sixes. In the end, Keith Boye scored 34 and Bernard Julian scored 26 runs to take the score beyond 290 runs. For Australia, left-arm fast bowler Gary Gilmour took 5 wickets for 48 runs. Jeff Thomson gave a total of 13 runs on the no-ball in the match and the team lost by 17 runs. This is considered to be the turning point of the match. A total of 11 no-balls were bowled by Australia.

Chappell played captaincy innings

In reply, Australia had a good start. At one time the team’s score was 81 runs for one wicket. But after that the team faltered. Captain Ian Chappell scored 62 runs off 93 balls. He added 56 runs for the second wicket with Allen Turner (40). Doug Walters scored 35 and Ross Edwards scored 28. Jeff Thomson (21) and Dennis Lillee (16 *) took the score to 274 after 9 wickets for 233 runs. But as soon as Thomson was run out, the team’s hope was over. There was still 8 ball game left.

IND vs ENG: Root had scored 3 centuries against India 9 months ago, Rohit and Kohli were left behind

Ranji Trophy Final: 2 disciples of Ramakant Achrekar will clash in the Ranji final, both have played for the same team

5 batsmen were run out from Australia. Fast bowler Keith Boye took 4 wickets for 50 runs in 12 overs. At the same time, Lloyd took one wicket for 38 runs in 12 overs. After this West Indies also won the next World Cup played in 1979. But in 1983 the same hat-trick could not be completed and he was defeated by the Indian team captained by Kapil Dev.

Tags: australia, Australia vs west indies, Ian Chappel, ICC, ODI World Cup, On This Day, West indies


Related Articles

Back to top button