Ind vs Nz 2nd T20I Highlights: Team India somehow won, batsmen had to roll papad to score 100 runs

Lucknow: India has defeated New Zealand by 6 wickets in the second match of the T20 series. New Zealand decided to bat first but their batting completely flopped in front of the Indian spinners. In 20 overs, the team could only manage 99 runs for 8 wickets. Indian batsmen were also seen struggling against spin. The team achieved the target of 100 runs in the 20th over. With this victory, the three-match series has become 1-1.

Spin bowlers did wonders

Indian spinners Yuzvendra Chahal (1/4), Deepak Hooda (1/17), Washington Sundar (1/17) and Kuldeep Yadav (1/17) shared figures of 4/55 in 13 overs. Took wickets. Captain Mitchell Santner top-scored with 19 not out for New Zealand as the team failed to surpass their previous lowest score in this format against India.

Chahal took the first wicket

The dominance of the bowlers can be gauged from the fact that only six fours were hit in the entire innings of the visiting team. Electing to bat after winning the toss, New Zealand got off to a poor start, losing both openers Finn Allen (11) and Devon Conway (11) for just 28 runs in the fifth over. In the fourth over, while trying to reverse sweep leg-spinner Chahal, Allen missed and the ball hit his back foot and went into the wickets.

Wickets fell in playing sweep-reverse sweep

In the next over, in an attempt to play a reverse sweep off Washington’s ball, Conway handed a simple catch to wicketkeeper Ishaan Kishan. New Zealand scored 33 for two in the powerplay. Glenn Phillips (05) also got bowled while trying to reverse sweep off-spinner Deepak Hooda. Mark Chapman (14) and Daryl Mitchell (08) held the wicket for some time but Kuldeep Yadav bowled Mitchell on the last ball of the 10th over to reduce New Zealand’s score to 48 for four.

Arshdeep and Mavi put only 3 overs

Chapman was run out by Kuldeep Yadav and sent to the pavilion. Michael Bracewell (14) and Santner shared the second best partnership of 20 runs for the sixth wicket. Pandya broke the partnership in the 17th over by getting Bracewell caught by Arshdeep at fine leg. Arshdeep sent Ish Sodhi (01) and Lockie Ferguson (00) to the pavilion in the next over. India bowled out their specialist fast bowlers Arshdeep Singh (2/7) and Shivam Mavi only in the last three overs.

Shubman Gill flopped again

In response, Indian team opener Shubman Gill once again flopped. After scoring 11 runs off 9 balls, Gill was dismissed by Bracewell. Ishaan Kishan kept the wicket but he was constantly struggling. India’s score was 29 runs after the powerplay. Ishaan Kishan was run out after scoring 19 runs off 32 balls. Rahul Tripathi (13) was also dismissed in the 11th over. At this time the team’s score was 50 runs.

Batsmen could not play freely

Even after this, the batsmen could not play freely. There was a 20-run partnership between Suryakumar Yadav and Washington Sundar. Due to deteriorating coordination, Sundar (10) was run out. With India needing 18 runs in the last three overs, Hardik was at the crease along with Surya. Mitchell Santner gave 5 runs in the 18th over. The Indian batsman was able to score 7 runs against Lockie Ferguson in the 19th over. On the 5th ball of the last over, Surya gave victory to India by hitting a four.

Yuzvendra Chahal Ind vs Nz: Yuzvendra Chahal’s name entered in the record book, big achievement achieved in the first overIndia Win U19 Womens T20 World Cup: Indian women created history, won the first U19 T20 World Cup title by trampling the British

Related Articles

Back to top button