IND vs NZ 3rd T20I Highlights: Shubman Gill’s stormy century, bowlers showed their mettle… Team India got its biggest win

Ahmedabad: Thanks to Shubman Gill’s maiden T20 International century, India defeated New Zealand by 168 runs in the third and final match of the T20 series. This is Team India’s biggest win and New Zealand’s biggest defeat in T20 International matches. This is the biggest defeat of any Test playing nation. India had earlier won by 143 runs against Ireland. With this victory, India has won the three-match series 2-1. Batting first, Team India scored 234 runs for 4 wickets. In response, New Zealand had lost 5 wickets in the powerplay itself. The team’s innings was reduced to 66 runs.

Bad start for Team India

Shubman Gill, continuing his excellent form, scored an unbeaten 126 in just 63 balls with the help of 12 fours and seven sixes. He has also become the batsman who played the biggest innings for India in T20 International. Electing to bat after winning the toss, the Indian team did not start well and Mitchell Santner played a master stroke by giving Michael Bracewell the second over. The off-spinner also lived up to his captain’s faith by dismissing Ishaan Kishan lbw on the second ball of the over.

Stormy partnership of Rahul and Gill

On the other hand, in-form Gill hit Lockie Ferguson for two fours in the next over. He doubled the entertainment for the spectators with hits, drives and pull shots. Gill hit Blair Tickner for three fours in the fifth over. Young Rahul Tripathi (44 off 22 balls) also kept up the pace, hitting Ferguson for a four and a six off successive balls. Tripathi then hit Santner for a four and a straight six over short fine leg. He looked aggressive and hit Ish Sodhi over extra cover for his third six of the innings. But in an attempt to play such a big shot, Ferguson was caught at deep square leg. He added 80 runs off 42 balls for the second wicket with Gill.

Gill broke the bowlers

Shubman Gill scored his first T20 half-century in 35 balls by scoring a single off Santner. Gill stood at one end and Suryakumar Yadav (24 off 13 balls) joined him at the crease, who also kept up the pace of adding runs, but was caught by Bracewell at mid-off in the 13th over. Gill completed his century in the first ball of the 18th over by hitting Ferguson for a four at mid-off. Even after this, he continued to rain runs. Captain Hardik Pandya (30 off 17 balls) also did not let the run rate slow down. In the end, India scored 235 runs for 4 wickets.

5 wickets fell in powerplay only

New Zealand got off to a bad start. Hardik Pandya dismissed Finn Allen (3) in the first over. Arshdeep Singh got the wickets of Devon Conway (1) and Mark Chapman (0) in the second over. In the third over, Hardik also sent back Glenn Phillips. Michael Bracewell was bowled by Umran Malik in the 5th over. After 6 overs, New Zealand’s score was 30 runs for 5 wickets.

Mitchell Santner and Darrell Mitchell added 31 runs for the sixth wicket. But once again the Indian bowlers took wickets in bunches. Shivam Mavi dismissed Santner (13) and Ish Sodhi (0) in the 9th over. In the very next over, Captain Hardik sent back Lockie Ferguson without opening the account.

New Zealand’s innings ended in the 13th over with the dismissal of Daryl Mitchell (35) for 66 runs. For India, Hardik Pandya took 4 wickets while Arshdeep, Umran and Shivam Mavi took 2-2 wickets.

Related Articles

Back to top button