HomeSportsIshaan-Gill or Gaikwad... who will be Shikhar Dhawan's opening partner in the...

Ishaan-Gill or Gaikwad… who will be Shikhar Dhawan’s opening partner in the absence of Rohit Sharma

New Delhi: West Indies came to India in February this year to play three ODIs and as many T20Is and the limited overs series is happening again between these two teams. The first ODI will be played on 22 July i.e. Friday. Many senior players have been rested in view of the World T20 to be held this year. In such a situation, the young Turks would like to leave their mark in the series.

Who will open?

Shikhar Dhawan not only has the command of the team but will also handle the responsibility of opening, but it will be interesting to see who opens the innings with Dhawan in the first match of the series. Shubman Gill is back in the team. He will form a right- and left-handed combination with Dhawan, but other players in the team may also get a chance to open the innings, including Ishan Kishan and Ruturaj Gaikwad.

player average strike rate
Ruturaj Gaikwad 54.7 100.1
Shubman Gill 44.9 88.1
Ishaan Kishan 36.6 92.2

rest these players
Dhawan, playing only in the ODI format, will lead India for the second time in his career as regular skipper Rohit Sharma has been rested for the series. Apart from them, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya and Virat Kohli have also been rested. The recent performance of West Indies has not been good. They had to face defeat 0-3 in the ODI series against Bangladesh. All-rounder Jason Holder has made a comeback and this has created a balance in the Nicholas Pooran-led side.

India Squad: Shikhar Dhawan (capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (vc), Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Famous Krishna, Mohd Siraj and Arshdeep Singh

West Indies squad, Nicholas Pooran (Captain), Shai Hope (Vice-Captain), Shamar Brooks, Keesey Carty, Jason Holder, Akil Hossain, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Meyers, Gudkesh Moti, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Jaden Seals


- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments