Podcast: Gill scored a stormy century, created new history in T20 series, raised new hopes for the World Cup – india vs new zealand t20 match world cup 2023

Recently, it had won the third consecutive series in the short format of India. Obviously, these results raise hopes before the ODI World Cup to be held this year and the T20 World Cup to be held next year. Shubman Gill has now proved that he is at the peak of both these formats at the moment. In such a situation, he cannot be ignored even in Test cricket.

There is not much time before the start of the Test series between India and Australia. The morale of these victories before that only increases. India has already won the ODI series against New Zealand in a one-sided manner. Although India lost the first match of the T20 series in Ranchi, it equalized in the second match in Lucknow.

And then, captured the series by registering a huge 168-run victory at the big stadium in Ahmedabad. On the other hand, the way New Zealand played in the ODI and T20 series, it is clear that without Kane Williamson, Tim Southee and Trent Boult, New Zealand has not been able to maintain its balance.

New Zealand won the first match of Ranchi by 21 runs. India had to score 177 runs to win, but it was reduced to 155. Although Suryakumar Yadav’s 47 and Washington Sundar’s 50 raised hopes once, but by then it was too late.

The story changed in Lucknow. Both the teams had to struggle for runs. The New Zealand team could score only 99 runs, to cross which the Indian batsmen had to make a lot of effort. Well done to Suryakumar and Hardik Pandya, who ensured India’s victory by scoring the required runs. In the first match of Ranchi, the bowler who was being blamed for the defeat by giving 27 runs in one over, the same Arshdeep broke New Zealand’s back by taking two wickets in the second match. Nevertheless, the BCCI held the curator responsible for the way the Lucknow pitch behaved and then removed it.

By the way, the end of the series happened as it should have happened in Ahmedabad from the Indian point of view. Means the competition was completely one sided. In response to India’s 234 runs, the New Zealand team got reduced to just 66 runs under pressure. Indian fast bowlers performed amazingly and took all 10 wickets in their names. Apart from Hardik, Arshdeep Singh, Shivam Mavi and Umran Malik also shared wickets among themselves.

Prithvi Shaw did not get a chance again in the series, but whatever experiments were done by captain Hardik Pandya, they are continuously successful. Except Ishaan Kishan, who is running flop. In such a situation, Ishaan may have to wait a long time to return to the team in the coming days.

Australia’s team has reached India, which has to play three ODIs apart from four Tests. The first Test will be played in Nagpur from February 9. It is expected that Ravindra Jadeja will get a chance to play in this test, because NCA has given him permission to play only yesterday. Anyway, Jadeja has tested his preparations very well in the last group league of Ranji Trophy. Shreyas Iyer, who was ruled out of the ODI series due to back pain, will not be able to play in the first Test. He is now likely to play only in the second Test in Delhi. By the way, it will be interesting to see that in the absence of Rishabh Pant, who among Ishan Kishan or Bharat Sikar gets a chance to play, or Lokesh Rahul is used as wicketkeeper. The third Test match will be played in Dharamshala and the fourth in Ahmedabad. The ODI series will happen next month.

This week, the news that made all Indian cricket lovers swoon is that of India becoming champions in the Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup. In this tournament organized for the first time, the Indian Under-19 women players completely dominated and defeated England by seven wickets in the final. Under the captaincy of Shefali Verma, the Indian team, which became the champion, won all the matches except the only defeat against Australia in the Super Six. Meanwhile, the Indian girls beat South Africa, UAE and Scotland in the group matches, beat Sri Lanka in the Super Six and then New Zealand in the semi-finals. The Indian team included senior team players like Richa Ghosh and Shefali Verma, but in terms of performance, players like Soumya Tiwari, Shweta Sehrawat, Parshvi Chopra, Mannat Kashyap, Archana Devi and Titas Sadhu outshined them.

Here, the Indian team, which remained unbeatable in the round-robin league match in South Africa, missed out on winning the title by disappointingly losing to the hosts by five wickets in the final of the Triangular Senior Women’s T20 tournament yesterday. India batted poorly and scored only 109 runs. In response, South Africa’s team was on the losing side at one time but Cole Trian scored an unbeaten 57 and took away the victory from India. The Indian team will now take part in the Women’s T20 World Cup starting on 10 February. However, for India, Deepti Sharma, Captain Harmanpreet Kaur and Harleen Deol performed satisfactorily in the tournament. There is definitely some concern about the form of Jemima Rodrigues and Smriti Mandhana.

And finally domestic cricket.

Today is the fourth day of the four quarter final matches of Ranji Trophy. It is expected that clear results of two or three matches will come out today. Bengal had only eight runs to win against Jharkhand at the end of play on the third day yesterday in Kolkata. Madhya Pradesh is in a good position against Andhra Pradesh in Indore. He has got the target of scoring a total of 245 runs in the fourth innings to win. Today on the fourth day, he needs to score the remaining 187 runs. In this match, Avesh Khan took four wickets and bundled out Andhra Pradesh’s second innings for only 93 runs. During the match, captain Hanuma Vihari was also hurt by Avesh’s ball, but showing courage, he also batted at number 11 in the second innings and scored 15 runs in 16 balls. Saurashtra team is struggling against Punjab in Rajkot. For Punjab, both openers Prabhsimran and Naman Dhir scored centuries, although for Saurashtra, Parth scored a century while batting at number nine. On the other hand, in Bengaluru, thanks to Shreyas Gopal’s century, Karnataka scored 606 runs, in response to which Uttarakhand was dismissed for 116 runs. Uttarakhand is struggling by scoring 106 runs for three wickets in the second innings.

Meanwhile, Bihar won the Plate Division Ranji title by defeating Manipur by 220 runs in the final. The teams of Bihar and Manipur will play in the elite group in the next season while Hyderabad and Nagaland will now have to play in the plate division.

Three quarter final matches of Senior Women’s ODI Trophy are being played in Ranchi today. In this, Kerala is competing with Railways, Delhi with Karnataka and Punjab with Rajasthan. Earlier, in the first quarter-final match played yesterday, Uttarakhand defeated Uttar Pradesh by three wickets and entered the semi-finals.

After five rounds of the Under-25 CK Nayudu Trophy, the Gujarat team is in a better position by winning four out of five matches. In a low-scoring match of this round, Madhya Pradesh defeated Tripura by 208 runs. While only the first innings could be completed in the high-scoring match between Vidarbha and Karnataka. In this, Vidarbha scored 619 and Karnataka scored 559 runs. The sixth round will start on February 5.

It was a podcast based on the cricketing activities of the week – Suno Dil Se. Hello Sanjay Banerjee.

Related Articles

Back to top button