HomeSportsSLWvINDW: ​​Mission World Cup, also preparing for Commonwealth, first T20 against Sri...

SLWvINDW: ​​Mission World Cup, also preparing for Commonwealth, first T20 against Sri Lanka tomorrow

Dambulla: The Indian women’s cricket team’s tour of Sri Lanka (Indian women’s cricket team vs Sri Lanka women’s cricket team) is starting from Thursday. The first match of the three-match T20 series will be played under the leadership of new captain Harmanpreet Kaur. The T20 format of cricket has been included in the upcoming Commonwealth Games in Birmingham. While the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup is also eight months away and in such a situation, the Indian team would like to make a solid start to their campaign.

This is the first international tournament of the Indian women’s team after a disappointing performance in the Women’s ODI World Cup 2022. This is the first competition of the Indian team after the retirement of veteran player Mithali Raj. Mithali said goodbye to cricket after an illustrious international career spanning 23 years.

Personally, captain Harmanpreet will have her eyes set on leaving Mithali behind. The thirty-three-year-old has scored 2319 runs in 121 matches and needs 46 runs to overtake Mithali in the shortest format of the game. Hosts Sri Lanka, however, will start the series on the back foot as the team suffered a 0-3 whitewash in the recent T20I series against Pakistan.

However, India will have to be wary of experienced Sri Lankan players like Oshadi Ranasinghe and Chamari Atapattu. India played the last T20 match against New Zealand in February this year, in which the team lost by 18 runs. Looking at the current form, India will have high hopes from Mandhana, Shefali Verma, Deepti Sharma and fast bowler Pooja Vastrakar.

Going by the current form and world rankings, India will definitely start the series as strong contenders and Sri Lanka will have to improve their game a lot to beat the visiting team. The three-match T20I series will be followed by a similar one-match ODI series with matches to be held at Pallekal on July 1, 4 and 7.

India Squad:
Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana, Simran Bahadur, Yastika Bhatia, Rajeshwari Gaikwad, Richa Ghosh, Sabhinene Meghna, Meghna Singh, Poonam Yadav, Renuka Singh, Jemima Rodrigues, Shefali Verma, Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar and Radha Yadav.

Sri Lankan Squad:
Chamari Atapattu (Captain), Nilakshi D’Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Vishmi Gunaratne, Ama Kanchana, Hansima Karunaratne, Achini Kulsuriya, Sugandhika Kumari, Harshita Madvi, Hasini Perera, Udeshika Prabodhani, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Satya Sandipani, Anoushka Sanjeevani, Thashaarikashe .


- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments