Former Australia coach Justin Langer said during the tea break, “If batsman Steve Smith was caught in this catch, the umpire would definitely have declared him not out but this did not happen with Shubman Gill.”
Former Australia captain Ricky Ponting said, “The ball may have gone 6-8 inches above the ground in Cameron Green’s hand but my question is whether any part of the ball touched the ground after completing the catch.” I am sure Rohit Sharma was having the same argument with the umpires. I am sure why Shubman Gill is so disappointed.
Kumar Sangakkara also seemed to agree with Ricky Ponting. He said, ‘It is about how you look at the catch. Green caught the bottom of the ball with his fingers but if any part of the ball touches the ground it is considered to help the ball to remain in hand and usually the umpire always gives not out.’
Ravi Shastri also believes almost the same. He said, “The third umpire must have thought that the fingers were under the ball but the question is whether the ball did not touch the ground after completing the catch.”
Sunil Gavaskar said, “If the on-field umpire gives the batsman out, then to overturn that decision, it is necessary for the third umpire to see enough evidence to give him not out.”
India has got the target of 444 runs
The Indian cricket team has got a mammoth target of 444 runs to win the final match of the World Test Championship. Australia scored 469 runs in the first innings of the match. In response, India could only score 296 runs. And in the second innings, the Kangaroo team decided to declare the innings by scoring 270 runs. In such a situation, Team India got a target of 444 runs to win the match.