HomeSportsVijay Hazare Trophy: Prithvi Shaw-Yashaswi Jaiswal failed, Tanush Kotian won Mumbai

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Prithvi Shaw-Yashaswi Jaiswal failed, Tanush Kotian won Mumbai

New Delhi. Off-spinner Tanush Kotian’s four for 31 helped Mumbai register an 8-wicket win over Bengal in a Group E match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy One Day Cricket Tournament on Saturday.
This was the career-best performance of Kotian, who was instrumental in Mumbai’s first title win in the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy. Tushar Deshpande took two wickets and Mohit Awasthi took one wicket while Shams Mulani got two wickets.

Mumbai won the toss and decided to bowl and dismissed Bengal for 121 runs in 31.3 overs. Manoj Tiwary scored 47 runs in 64 balls for Bengal but wickets kept falling from the other end. In response, for Mumbai, captain Ajinkya Rahane scored an unbeaten 59 in 72 balls with the help of six fours and two sixes. Mumbai achieved the target in 30.2 overs. Prithvi Shaw (26) and Yashasvi Jaiswal (10) were dismissed early by Bengal pacer Mukesh Kumar but Rahane and Hardik Tamore (18 not out) shared an unbroken 75-run partnership.

After the first day, Puducherry topped Group E on the basis of net run-rate, which beat Mizoram by seven wickets. Mumbai is second and Maharashtra is third. Maharashtra beat Railways by seven wickets. Opener Rituraj Gaikwad scored an unbeaten 124 while Rahul Tripathi contributed 75 runs.

Ishant and Dhawan shine in Delhi’s win over Vidarbha
Delhi registered a five-wicket win over Vidarbha with significant contributions from experienced Ishant Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan. Ishant took three wickets for 24 runs as Delhi bundled out Vidarbha for 207 runs. Ganesh Satish was the top scorer for Vidarbha with 45 off 74 balls. Delhi achieved this target in 44.5 overs in which Dhawan scored 47 runs in 64 balls. Lalit Yadav remained unbeaten on 56 off 73 balls.

Dhawan, who has only played in ODIs for India, will captain the national team in three matches in New Zealand later this month. Batting at number three, Yash Dhul scored 37 runs in 27 balls. Karnataka and Jharkhand also registered victories in other Group B matches. Karnataka won by 115 runs over Meghalaya while Jharkhand beat Sikkim by 193 runs.

Tags: Ajinkya Rahane, Bengal, Mumbai, Prithvi Shaw, vijay hazare trophy, Yashasvi Jaiswal



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments