HomeSportsWIvIND: Team India won the last T20, thrashed West Indies 4-1 in...

WIvIND: Team India won the last T20, thrashed West Indies 4-1 in the series

Fort Lauderhill (Florida): India defeated the West Indies in the fifth and final match on the back of the deadly bowling of the spinners after the swashbuckling innings of Shreyas Iyer (64 runs). After a huge and one-sided victory of 88 runs, the five-match T20 series was 4-1 in the name of the visiting India. After losing the toss, Caretaker Captain Hardik Pandya elected to bat first and put 188 runs on the scoreboard for seven wickets. In reply, the Caribbean team was all out for just 100 runs in 15.1 overs. Barring Shimron Hetmyer (56 off 35 balls), none of the batsmen could stay at the crease. He completed the fastest fifty of his career off 28 balls.

Spinners took all 10 wickets
For the first time in T20 cricket, all 10 wickets went to the spinners. Axar Patel Patel returned the pavilion to three West Indies batsmen within five overs. The fall of wickets which started from the first over continued till the end. Young leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi performed his career best, taking 4 for 16 in 2.4 overs. On the other hand, Kuldeep Yadav, playing the first match in the series, also bowled killer, taking 3 wickets for just 12 runs in his quota of 4 overs. Pacers i.e. Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan and Hardik Pandya did not get any wickets.

India had already won the series

The Indian team, which has already made its name in the series, rested four experienced players Captain Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Suryakumar Yadav, in their place Ishan Kishan, Kuldeep Yadav, Pandya and Shreyas Iyer returned in the playing XI. . India won the first, third, fourth and fifth matches of the series while West Indies managed to win only the second match.

Shreyas Iyer’s strong half-century

In the match, once again the new pair opened the innings for the Indian team but Ishan failed to capitalize on the opportunity in the team while Iyer made a lucrative shot. When he and Hooda were batting, the team seemed to be moving towards 200-plus runs. Shreyas Iyer, sent for the opening, hit eight fours and two sixes in his innings of 40 balls, 38 for the first wicket with opener Ishan Kishan (11 runs in 13 balls) and Deepak Hooda for the second wicket with just 38. 76 runs partnership in 7.1 overs. Hooda scored 38 runs in his 25-ball innings with the help of three fours and two sixes. Captain Hardik scored 28 runs in 16 balls with the help of two fours and two sixes before being run out in the last over. For West Indies, Odine Smith took three wickets for 33 runs in four overs.

Lightning struck and match stopped

In the 14th over of the match, the match had to be stopped for 15 minutes due to lightning. The Indian team was in a better position at 135 for three at this time but in the last overs, the team could not score as fast as expected. Sanju Samson (15 runs) once again failed to take advantage of the opportunity, while Dinesh Karthik (12 runs) could not play the role of finisher in the second consecutive match.

IND vs WI: Went to copy, the bet turned upside down, Jason Holder came out to open on 0


- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments