HomeSportsWomen's Cricket: Australia snatched history from India thrice, know when it happened

Women’s Cricket: Australia snatched history from India thrice, know when it happened

CWG 2022 Women’s Cricket Final: The Indian women’s cricket team was close to creating history in the ongoing Commonwealth Games 2022 in Birmingham. There were two overs left in the final match of women’s cricket and India’s victory seemed almost certain. Chasing a target of 162 runs, the Indian team had to score 17 runs to win in the last two overs and had 4 wickets left. From here, Australian bowlers Megan Schutt and Jonasson gave only 7 runs in the last two overs and took all four wickets. The Indian women’s cricket team lost here by 9 runs and with this she missed out on creating history by winning the gold medal in her first Commonwealth Games.

This was not the first time that Australia has snatched the opportunity to create history from the Indian team. Even before this, she has twice been a hindrance in the way of achieving a big achievement by the Indian women’s team. Once he defeated India in the final of the ODI World Cup. At the same time, defeating in the final of the T20 World Cup for the second time stopped India from becoming the champion. The Indian team has not been able to become the world champion in both these formats of cricket till date.

World Cup 2005: Lost by 98 runs in final match
In the 2005 ODI World Cup, the Indian team made it to the final. In this match, Australia won the toss and elected to bat first. Thanks to Karen Rolton’s century and Lisa Sthalekar’s half-century, the Australian team scored 215 runs for the loss of 4 wickets in 50 overs. In reply, the Indian team was all out for just 117 runs. Veteran batsmen like captain Mithali Raj and Anjum Chopra were completely flop in this match.

T20 World Cup 2020: All out for 99 in the final match
In the T20 World Cup held in the year 2020, the Indian team also entered the final. In this match too, Australia won the toss and elected to bat first and scored 184 runs in 20 overs thanks to half-centuries from Alyssa Healy (75) and Beth Mooney (78). In response, the Indian team could not even reach 100 runs. Star batsmen like Shafali Verma (2), Smriti Mandhana (11) and Harmanpreet Kaur (4) could not get runs off the bat. In this match, Megan Shut took 4 wickets and Jess Jonasson had spoiled India’s game by taking 3 wickets.

Read also…

CWG 2022: First gold in boxing, Neetu of Haryana won the final in a one-sided fashion

CWG 2022: Two medals for India in triple jump, Aldos Paul won gold and Abdullah won silver


- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments