World Cup 2023: Sri Lankan team announced for qualifier matches


Sri Lankan team announced for qualifiers
Dhoni’s partner got a place in the team

New Delhi. The Sri Lankan cricket team has announced its 15-member squad for the World Cup qualifiers. All-rounder Dasun Shanaka will lead the Sri Lankan team in the prestigious tournament. Apart from this, young fast bowler Mathisha Pathirana, who bowled deadly in death overs for CSK in IPL, has also been included in the team.

The World Cup qualifiers will be played in Zimbabwe from June 18 to July 9. During this, a total of 10 teams will participate. This includes the names of Nepal, Netherlands, America, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Ireland, Oman, Sri Lanka, Scotland and UAE. Two teams performing well in the qualifier match will qualify for the World Cup.

Also read- These are the current 5 batsmen of the world, who have scored the most centuries in international cricket, 2 Indians in top 5

It is being told that the Sri Lankan team will leave for Africa on June 10 for the qualifier matches. The team will also be accompanied by former captain and national team advisor coach Mahela Jayawardene. SLC says, limited support staff will be sent for qualifier matches. If the team is successful in securing its place in the 2023 World Cup, then more members will be added to it.

The Sri Lankan squad for the qualifiers is as follows:

Dasun Shanaka (c), Kusal Mendis (wk), Dimuth Karunaratne, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjay de Silva, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Vanindu Harranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Mahish Tikshna, Mathisha Pathirana and Dushan Hemanta.

Tags: sri lanka, sri lanka cricket team, world cup 2023

Back to top button