Wrestlers Protest: Babita Phogat included in the committee investigating the allegations against Wrestling Federation, won gold for the country

New Delhi: Commonwealth Games gold medalist wrestler Babita Phogat has been included in the committee constituted to probe various allegations against Wrestling Federation of India President Brij Bhushan Singh. She had joined the BJP after her retirement from playing. The committee constituted by the Sports Ministry is probing allegations of sexual misconduct, harassment, intimidation, financial and administrative irregularities against the WFI and its president. This investigation has been started after the Gharna performance of the players.

Eminent wrestlers like Vinesh Phogat, Bajrang Punia, Sakshi Malik and Ravi Dahiya have accused the federation’s president Brij Bhushan Singh. “Former wrestler Babita Phogat has been included in the committee constituted by the Sports Ministry to look into the day-to-day functioning of the Wrestling Federation of India,” the ministry said in a statement.

The players had raised questions on the formation of the committee for investigation. He said that his suggestions were not taken before the formation of the committee. All the wrestlers involved in the gharna had expressed their displeasure on social media regarding this. Sangeeta Phogat, sister of Babita Phogat, is among the wrestlers who perform gharna.

Who’s who in the committee?

The committee includes legendary boxer MC Mary Kom, former wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt, former badminton player Trupti Murgunde, former SAI officer Radhika Sriman and former CEO of Target Olympic Podium Scheme Rajesh Rajagopalan. After the formation of the committee by Sports Minister Anurag Thakur, the wrestlers ended their three-day strike at Jantar Mantar. Later, however, the wrestlers said that they were not consulted before forming the committee.

Wrestlers Protest: Unhappy with the government’s decision, the wrestlers protesting, including Bajrang Punia, expressed their displeasure

Related Articles

Back to top button