HomeWorld NewsHow will Britain's new monarch King Charles III be crowned? Know...

How will Britain’s new monarch King Charles III be crowned? Know everything about it

King Charles III The New Monarch: The moment Queen Elizabeth II breathed her last, immediately the crown of Britain passed to her heir without any ceremony. This heir is none other than the Queen’s eldest son, Prince of Wales, who has now become King Charles III. There are many practical and traditional steps before his coronation, through which the British crown will be crowned on his head. Here we are going to tell you about those steps.

What will he be called now?

He will no longer be called Prince Charles, but King Charles III. This was the first decision taken under the new monarch, when he chose his name as a king, Charles. He could choose one of four names, Charles, Philip, Arthur and George. He is not the only one in the British monarchy whose title has changed. Along with them the titles of the members of the British family will change. The next name in this episode is of his son Prince William.

Changed royal family titles

After King Charles-III, his son Prince William is the heir to the throne. He has to get the title of Prince of Wales, but Prince William will not get this title easily. This title will be given to him through his father. Significantly, in 1969, Queen Elizabeth II crowned her son Charles as Prince of Wales. He has inherited the title of Duke of Cornwall from his father.

William and Kate have now been given the titles of Duke and Duchess of Cornwall and Cambridge. Not only this, Charles’s wife Camilla will also be known by a new title. She will be called the Queen Consort. The title is a term used for the emperor’s spouse. Significantly, after the death of Lady Diana Spencer, the then Prince Charles married Camilla Parker Bowles.

formal ceremony

Charles is expected to be officially declared king on Saturday. This historic ceremony will take place at St James’s Palace in London in front of the ceremonial body, which is known as the Accession Council. It is made up of members of the Privy Council. It consists of a group of senior parliamentarians, past and present colleagues as well as some senior civil servants, the Commonwealth High Commissioners and the Lord Mayor of London. The ceremony is supposed to have an in-principle participation of over 700 people, but the actual number is likely to be much lower, given the short notice.

In the year 1952, about 200 people participated in the last adoption council. In this meeting, the Lord President of the Privy Council will announce the death of Queen Elizabeth. At present, Penny Mordaunt is the MP on this post. Not only this, a public proclamation will also be read aloud. The wording of this proclamation may change, but it has traditionally been a series of prayers and vows, praising the previous emperor and pledging support for the new one. The proclamation has been signed by several senior figures including the Prime Minister, the Archbishop of Canterbury and the Lord Chancellor. As with all these celebrations, attention will be paid to what has been changed, added or renewed, as a sign of a new era.

King’s First Declaration

After this, the King attends the second meeting of the Ascension Council along with the Privy Council. However, it is not the swearing in at the beginning of the reign of a British monarch, as is the style of swearing by the President of the United States or some other heads of state. Instead of swearing, the new king makes a declaration. This announcement is made in the same way as the tradition going on since the beginning of the 18th century. In this, the British monarch takes an oath to preserve the Church of Scotland. Similarly, this time too, after the fanfare of Trumpeters, a public announcement will be made to declare Charles as the new king.

“God bless the king”

An official known as the Garter King of Arms will make the announcement from a balcony above the Friary Court at St. James’s Palace. This officer will call out, “God keep the king safe” and this will be the first time since 1952 that the national anthem will be played along with the words “God keep the king safe”. Cannon salutes will be given from Hyde Park, the Tower of London and naval ships, and then the proclamation of Charles’s declaration as King will be read in Edinburgh, Cardiff and Belfast.


The symbolic high point of the accession will be the coronation, when Charles is formally crowned. The coronation ceremony is unlikely to take place immediately after Charles’s coronation due to lack of necessary preparations. It is worth noting that earlier this happened even at the time of his mother’s coronation. Queen Elizabeth II ascended the throne in February 1952, but was crowned in June 1953. For the last 900 years, the coronation is being done at Westminster Abbey. The first emperor to be crowned here was William the Conqueror. After him, the crowned Charles will be the 40th emperor here. It is an Anglican religious service performed by the Archbishop of Canterbury.

The Archbishop would place the St Edward’s Crown on Charles’s head at the climax of the ceremony. This is a solid gold crown or crown made of 1661. It is the centerpiece of the Crown Jewels in the Tower of London and is only worn by the monarch at the time of coronation. Its weight is 2.23 kg i.e. about 5 lbs. Unlike royal weddings, coronations are a state ceremonial occasion, so the government pays for it and sets the guest list. There will be music, reading and anointing of the new emperor using the oils of orange, rose, cinnamon, musk and ambergris. The new emperor will take the oath of coronation in front of the whole world. During this grand and grand ceremony he will receive the orb and sceptre as a symbol of his new role, and the Archbishop of Canterbury will place a solid gold crown on his head.

head of the commonwealth

With Britain becoming King, Charles has become the head of the Commonwealth of 56 independent countries and 2.4 billion people. In these, along with the UK, the king is the head of state for 14 countries. Countries known as the Commonwealth include Australia, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Belize, Canada, Grenada, Jamaica, Papua New Guinea, St. Christopher and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, New Zealand, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu Is.

Also read:

King Charles III will get all these royal facilities, know what is special in them

Queen Elizabeth-II: Britain’s new King Charles’ address to the nation today, the speech will be based on the death of Queen Elizabeth II




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments