World News

Nepali Congress maintains lead in parliamentary elections, candidate wins from Syangja seat

Nepal news: Dhanraj Gurung, the candidate of the ruling coalition led by Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba’s party Nepali Congress, has won from Syangja constituency number-2 in the parliamentary elections in Nepal. After this the alliance has maintained its lead. Election Commission sources gave this information.

Gurung defeated her nearest rival Padma Kumari Aryal of the CPN (UML). Gurung got 31,466 votes, while Kumari got 25,839 votes.

House of Representatives won 57 seats

With this, the Nepali Congress has won 57 seats in the House of Representatives under direct elections and the party is in first place in the House. It is followed by the CPN-UML, which has won 44 seats so far.

News Reels

CPN-Maoist Center got 17 seats

The CPN-Maoist Center got 17 seats in the direct elections. While CPN-Unified Socialist has won 10 seats. Till now the counting of votes in 163 constituencies has been completed and only two seats are yet to be counted.

Counting of votes started late in three constituencies

The counting of votes for three constituencies-Siangja-2, Bajura and Dolakha- began late as elections in these constituencies were postponed due to disputes between different groups.

In Nepal’s 275-member House of Representatives, 165 members will be elected through direct voting and the remaining 110 will be elected through a proportional election system.

Need to win 138 seats to form majority

A party needs at least 138 seats to form a majority government. The five-party ruling coalition includes the Nepali Congress, CPN-Maoist Center CPN-Unified Socialist, Loktantrik Samajwadi Party and Rashtriya Jan Morcha. The alliance now has 85 seats while the opposition CPN-UML has 57 seats.

read this also- Year Ender 2022: Top-9 personalities of the year 2022, who made the most headlines – from PM Modi to Elon Musk’s name included

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button