Monday, May 27, 2024
HomeSports NewsMajor reshuffle in South Africa's test team, uncapped player gets captaincy

Major reshuffle in South Africa’s test team, uncapped player gets captaincy

Image Source: AP
David Bedingham

The South African team, which is playing a 2-match Test series at home against India, has to tour New Zealand in the beginning of February 2024, where the team will play a 2-match Test series. In this regard, the African Cricket Board has announced a 14-member team, in which many surprising decisions have been seen. In this Test series, the captaincy of the African team has been handed over to a player who has not yet made his debut in the international format. Africa has to play the first test match on the tour of New Zealand from 4th to 8th February and the second match from 13th to 17th February.

This uncapped player got the captaincy of the African team

Neil Brand will be seen handling the captaincy of the 14-member South African team announced for the New Zealand tour. 27-year-old Neil has so far played 51 first-class matches and scored 2906 runs at an average of 39.27, while as a left-arm spin bowler he has also taken 72 wickets. The biggest reason behind including many new players in the team for this tour is that the main player was busy playing South Africa T20 League at that time.

Only these three players from the current team were selected for the New Zealand tour.

There are only 3 players included in the South African Test team currently playing against India who have been selected in the team for the New Zealand tour. This includes the names of Keegan Pietersen, Zubair Hamza and David Bendingham. Apart from this, if we talk about the team, there are six players in it who have not yet made their debut in international cricket. Neil Brand will become the first player in international cricket who will play his debut match as the captain of a Test team in international cricket after the year 1995.

See South Africa’s Test team for New Zealand tour here

Neil Brandt (captain), David Bendingham, Ruan de Swardt, Clyde Fortune, Zubair Hamza, Shipu Moreki, Mihalei Mongwa, Dwayne Oliver, Dane Paterson, Keegan Pietersen, Dane Pediet, Renard van Tonder, Shaun von Berg, Khaya Zondo.

read this also

Who will open for Australia after David Warner, the head coach’s statement will surprise you

Deepti Sharma did a great job in the second ODI, became the first women’s player in Asia to do so.

Latest Cricket News


Most Popular

Recent Comments