Saturday, May 18, 2024
HomeSports NewsOnly these 3 Indian captains won tests on South African soil, waiting...

Only these 3 Indian captains won tests on South African soil, waiting for victory for so many years

Image Source : GETTY
MS Dhoni And Virat Kohli

India vs South Africa Test Series: The ODI and T20 series between India and South Africa is over. India has won the ODI series. Whereas the T20 series has been on par. Now all eyes are on the two-Test series. The first test match will be played on 26 December in Centurion. The Indian team’s record in Test matches on South African soil is not good. So far only three Indian captains have been able to register victory on South African soil.

Such is the record on African soil

The Indian team has played 23 test matches on South African soil, out of which Team India has won only four. The team has faced defeat in 12 matches. 7 test matches have been drawn. Only three Indian captains have been able to win against South Africa on African soil. These include Rahul Dravid, Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Virat Kohli.

The first test was won under the captaincy of Dravid.

The Indian team won its first Test match on South African soil in the year 2006. Then the captain of Team India was Rahul Dravid. Under the captaincy of Dravid, India won the match by 123 runs. After this, in the year 2010, under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the Indian team won the test match against Africa by 87 runs.

Waiting for victory for so many years

Virat Kohli is the only captain under whose captaincy India has won two test matches against Africa on African soil. In the year 2018, India had won by 63 runs under the captaincy of Kohli. After this, in the year 2021, the test match was won by 113 runs. For the last two years, Team India has been waiting to win the Test match on South African soil.

Squad of both teams for test series

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Abhimanyu Easwaran, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah (vice-captain), Prasidh Krishna and KS Bharat (wicketkeeper).

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (captain), David Bedingham, Nandre Berger, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Kagiso Rabada, Tristan Stubbs, Kyle Verrein, Gerald Coetzee, Tony De Georgi, Dean Elgar, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Keegan Pietersen.

Also read:

Coincidence or charisma, this history repeated in Indian cricket after 64 years

Indian women’s team has defeated these teams in Tests before Australia, see the complete list

Latest Cricket News


Most Popular

Recent Comments