Wednesday, February 28, 2024
HomeSports NewsThe team that wins the New Zealand-South Africa series will get this...

The team that wins the New Zealand-South Africa series will get this special trophy, it is related to a big accident – India TV Hindi

Image Source : NZ CRICKET
New Zealand vs South Africa Test Series Trophy

NZ vs SA Trophy: A two-Test test series is to be played between New Zealand and South Africa. The first match of this series will be played from 04 February. An exciting series is expected between the two teams to maintain a strong position in the points table of the World Test Championship. However, South Africa has selected an entire youth team for this series. This is going to be a big challenge for the South African team. Meanwhile, New Zealand Cricket has announced a special trophy for this series. Which will be given to the winning team. This trophy is related to a major accident.

New Zealand announced a special trophy

A trophy named Tangiwai Shield has been announced for the Test series to be played between New Zealand and South Africa. A trophy commemorating 70 years since the 1953 Tangiwai train disaster that claimed 151 lives. The disaster is considered the worst in New Zealand’s history and the wife of former Kiwi fast bowler Bob Blair was one of the 151 victims of the tragedy. The accident occurred on 24 December 1953 when the second Test of the five-match series between South Africa and New Zealand was being played in the Rainbow Nation.

Despite the death of his wife in a train accident in New Zealand, Bob Blair played in the match against South Africa and bowled with figures of 2/50 in the first innings. However, the New Zealand team that went on the South Africa tour had to face defeat in that match.

Players should know history

Cricket South Africa CEO Pholetsi Moseki has praised the initiative and believes it will serve as an important reminder to today’s teams to learn what to do. He said it is important that the teams of today and tomorrow know what their history is, and I am sure the Tangiwai Shield will do a lot to help this.

Squads of both the teams for the test series

New Zealand team: Tim Southee (captain), Tom Blundell, Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Will O’Rourke (only 2nd Test), Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, Will Youth

South African team: Neil Brand (captain), David Bedingham, Ruan de Swardt, Clyde Fortuyn (wk), Zubair Hamza, Tshepo Moreki, Mihalali Mpongwana, Duane Oliver, Dane Paterson, Keegan Pietersen, Dane Piedt, Renard Van Tonder, Shaun von Berg, Khaya Zondo , Edward Moore

Read also

Yashasvi Jaiswal has a chance to make a big record, even Virat, Rohit and Sachin could not do it.

U19 World Cup 2024: Team India will play semi-finals against this country, this has been the journey so far

Latest Cricket News


Most Popular

Recent Comments