Thursday, May 23, 2024
HomeSports NewsVirat Kohli's name in the race for ICC Cricketer of the Year,...

Virat Kohli’s name in the race for ICC Cricketer of the Year, will compete with these players

Image Source : GETTY
Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja and Rohit Sharma

Players who have performed well in the world of cricket have been honored by ICC every year. In this, various types of awards are given to the players. Awards are given to players for all three formats, ODI, Test and T20, but the biggest award is considered to be ICC Cricketer of the Year. Some players from India have won this award earlier also. In the year 2023, many cricket matches were played across the world. After which ICC has now nominated four players for ICC Cricketer of the Year 2023. The name of Team India’s star batsman Virat Kohli is also included in these four players.

These four players nominated for ICC Cricketer of the Year

The year 2023 was very special for international cricket. This year two big ICC tournaments were played. Where the World Test Championship final match and ODI World Cup were played. In the year 2023, there were many players who performed brilliantly for their respective countries. Among those players, ICC has nominated the names of 4 powerful players. In which the names of two players from India are included. Apart from Virat Kohli, the name of Indian all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja is also included in this list. Apart from these two, two Australian players are part of this list. Where Travis Head and Pete Cummins have also been nominated by ICC.

Virat-Jadeja performed amazingly

Virat Kohli has always performed brilliantly for Team India. In the year 2023, he appeared to be in great form. Where Kohli played a total of 35 matches in ODI and Test, where he scored 2048 runs at an impressive average of 66.06. Virat Kohli has also scored 8 centuries and 10 half-centuries during this period. Virat Kohli continued his strong form in the World Cup 2023 and he topped the list of batsmen who scored the most runs in the tournament. Apart from Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja has also performed brilliantly in the year 2023. He scored 613 runs in a total of 35 matches, while taking 66 wickets with the ball. He has also been the highest wicket taker for India in the year 2023.

2023 was a great year for Head-Cummins

The year 2023 was amazing for Australia’s star player Travis Head and captain Pete Cummins. Both players won both the ICC titles played in the year 2023. The performance of these two players was the best in the final matches of both the tournaments. Travis Head scored brilliant centuries in both the WTC final and World Cup final matches. The Australian team won both these trophies under the captaincy of Pete Cummins. This is the reason why ICC has included the names of these two players in this list.

Read also

IND vs AFG T20I Series: Team India can be like this, these players are likely to be rested

Before the T20 World Cup 2024, Team India’s batsman scored a brilliant century, claiming selection.

Latest Cricket News


Most Popular

Recent Comments