Friday, February 23, 2024
HomeIndia NewsAssembly election results of 4 states will come on Sunday, counting of...

Assembly election results of 4 states will come on Sunday, counting of votes amid tight security

Image Source : PTI
Security personnel deployed outside the counting center in Bhopal

Assembly Elections Results: Counting of votes for the assembly elections held in four states of the country, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Telangana, will take place on Sunday. Since there is less than six months left for the Lok Sabha elections, the assembly elections of these states are being seen as semi-final contests. Congress is in power in Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh and BJP is in power in Madhya Pradesh. There is a direct contest between Congress and BJP in these three states, while K. Chandrashekhar Rao-led Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) is hoping to score a ‘hat-trick’ in Telangana. Counting of votes will begin at 8 am amid tight security for 230 seats in Madhya Pradesh, 90 seats in Chhattisgarh, 119 seats in Telangana and 199 seats in Rajasthan. Elections to an assembly seat in Rajasthan were postponed due to the death of a candidate. Election officials said three-tier security arrangements have been made for counting of votes and only people holding valid passes will be allowed to enter the counting centres.

Madhya Pradesh

Officials said that the counting of votes for all 230 assembly seats will begin at 8 am on Sunday at 52 district headquarters amid tight security. 2,533 candidates are in the fray, including political stalwarts like Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and former Chief Minister and senior Congress leader Kamal Nath. Chouhan claimed that his party will retain power with an “overwhelming majority”, while state Congress chief Kamal Nath said he has “full confidence” in the voters of the state. Of the 230 seats in the state, 47 are reserved for Scheduled Tribes and 35 for Scheduled Castes. Apart from Chief Minister Chauhan (from Budhni seat) and Kamal Nath (Chhindwara), three Union ministers Narendra Singh Tomar, Prahlad Patel and Faggan Singh Kulaste have also contested the assembly elections. The electoral fate of BJP general secretary Kailash Vijayvargiya, who is contesting from Indore-1, and three BJP Lok Sabha members – Rakesh Singh, Ganesh Singh and Reeti Pathak will also be decided tomorrow. Assembly elections were held in a single phase on November 17 in the state.


Counting of votes for 199 assembly seats in Rajasthan will be done on Sunday. A total of 1862 candidates are trying their electoral luck on these seats. The main contest in the state is believed to be between the ruling Congress and the main opposition party BJP. Over the past few decades, this state has traditionally seen a change of government in every assembly election. Once Congress comes to power and once BJP comes to power. Chief Electoral Officer Praveen Gupta said that all arrangements have been ensured at the counting centers for the counting of votes for the Rajasthan Assembly elections. On December 3, counting of ballot papers will begin at 8 am in all centers and counting of votes cast through EVMs will begin at 8.30 am. Voting was held on 25 November for 199 out of 200 assembly seats in the state. The election from Karanpur seat in the state was postponed due to the death of the Congress candidate.


Counting of votes for the assembly elections in Chhattisgarh will take place on Sunday and there is a possibility of a tough contest between the ruling Congress and the opposition BJP on most of the seats in the state. Congress is claiming to return to power in the state. The party is confident that under the leadership of Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel, the party has worked for the farmers, tribals and the poor, on the basis of which the Congress government will be formed here once again. Officials related to elections and security in the state said, “Tight security arrangements have been made at the counting centers in all the 33 districts of the state, especially in the Naxal-affected districts.” Voting for 90 seats of the state assembly will be held in two phases on November 7 and 17. Voting was held in. State Chief Electoral Officer Reena Baba Saheb Kangale said, “Counting of votes for all 90 seats will begin at 8 am in 33 district headquarters, for which all preparations have been completed.” He said that three-level security arrangements have been made at each counting centre. A total of 1,181 candidates, including Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel, Deputy Chief Minister TS Singhdev and former Chief Minister and senior BJP leader Raman Singh, will be decided in the state. There is a possibility of a triangular contest on the Patan seat represented by Chief Minister Baghel, where the BJP has fielded the Chief Minister’s distant nephew and party MP Vijay Baghel. At the same time, Amit Jogi, state president of Janata Congress Chhattisgarh (J) and son of former Chief Minister late Ajit Jogi, is also in the fray.


There are 2,290 candidates in the fray in the Telangana Assembly elections, including BRS chief Chandrashekhar Rao, his son and government minister KT Rama Rao, Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee president A. Revanatha Reddy and BJP Lok Sabha members Bandi Sanjay Kumar, D. Arvind and Soyam Bapu Rao. BRS has fielded candidates on all 119 seats in the state, while BJP and Janasena have contested 111 and eight seats respectively as per the pre-poll agreement. At the same time, Congress gave one seat to its ally Communist Party of India (CPI). Asaduddin Owaisi-led AIMIM was contesting on nine assembly seats. KCR (Chandrashekhar Rao) is contesting from two assembly constituencies – Gajavel and Kamareddy while Revanth Reddy is contesting from Kodangal and Kamareddy. Apart from Huzurabad, BJP has fielded its MLA Eatala Rajender from Gajwel, from where he is also the sitting MLA. In the elections held on November 30 in Telangana, 71.34 percent of the total 3.26 crore voters exercised their franchise, which was conducted peacefully barring sporadic incidents. (Language)

Latest India News


Most Popular

Recent Comments