Sunday, May 19, 2024
HomeIndia NewsBJP has been winning Vidisha Lok Sabha seat continuously since 1989, it...

BJP has been winning Vidisha Lok Sabha seat continuously since 1989, it is considered an impenetrable fort – India TV Hindi

Image Source : INDIA TV GFX
Vidisha Lok Sabha seat

Vidisha: Lok Sabha elections are going to be held in the country this year. In these elections, voters will elect the government for the next five years. The political arena has been set up even before the elections. Parties are forming alliances. Elections are held for a total of 543 Lok Sabha seats in the country. Out of these 543 seats, one seat is also from Vidisha in Madhya Pradesh. This seat is very historical in itself. The MPs who won the elections from here have served on posts like Prime Minister and Foreign Minister of the country.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee has won the election from here

Former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee had won the elections from here in the year 1991. However, he also contested from Lucknow and later left the Vidisha seat. Later, former Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh Shivraj Singh Chauhan contested this seat and won five consecutive elections. Similarly, the then External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj was also a two-time MP from Vidisha seat. Later, Atal Bihari Vajpayee became the Prime Minister of the country and Sushma Swaraj became the Foreign Minister of the country. Whereas Shivraj Singh remained the Chief Minister of the state.

Vidisha Lok Sabha seat is the stronghold of BJP

If we talk about the present time, Vidisha Lok Sabha seat has become a stronghold for BJP. At present also BJP’s Ramakant Bhargava is the MP from here. There are eight assembly constituencies in Vidisha parliamentary constituency, which include Bhojpur, Sanchi, Silwani, Vidisha, Basoda, Budni, Ichhawar and Khategaon. Out of these eight seats, BJP has MLAs from seven seats while Devendra Patel of Congress is the MLA from Silwani Assembly seat. Only BJP candidates have been winning this seat continuously since 1989.

Raghav ji had won in the year 1989. After this, Atalji Vijay came in 1991 but he resigned from here. Because he was also elected MP from Lucknow. Shivraj Singh Chauhan won the by-election held after this and remained MP till 2006. After this, during the 2006 by-election, Rampal Singh won this seat. After this, Sushma Swaraj was the MP from here from 2009 to 2019. At present Ramakant Bhargava is representing here.

2019 election results

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, BJP had made Ramakant Bhargava its candidate from here. Whereas Congress had fielded former MLA Shailendra Patel as its candidate. In this election, BJP’s Ramakant Bhargava got 8 lakh 53 thousand 22 votes, while Congress’s Shailendra Patel got 3 lakh 49 thousand 938 votes. In this way, BJP’s Ramakant Bhargava had won this election by 5 lakh 3 thousand 84 votes. In this way, BJP also maintained its record of victory on this seat since 1989.

Latest India News


Most Popular

Recent Comments