Thursday, May 23, 2024
HomeIndia NewsWill BJP's victory chariot stop in Raipur this time or will the...

Will BJP’s victory chariot stop in Raipur this time or will the lotus bloom again? Know the political equation here – India TV Hindi

Image Source : INDIA TV
Raipur seat of Chhattisgarh.

Raipur: There are 11 Lok Sabha seats in entire Chhattisgarh, but being the capital of the state, Raipur Lok Sabha seat is considered to be the most VIP seat. A total of 7 assembly seats come under Raipur Lok Sabha constituency. These include Dharsiwa, Raipur City West, Raipur City North, Raipur City South, Raipur City Rural, Arang and Abhanpur assembly seats. BJP has hoisted the flag on all these seven assembly seats. Raipur Lok Sabha constituency has a total population of around 25 lakh, in which Sahu and Kurmi communities dominate. In Raipur, 30 percent population belongs to Sahu community and 20 percent population belongs to Kurmi community.

2014 election and its equations

If we talk about the Lok Sabha elections held in the year 2014, we will see that elections were conducted in three phases in the entire Chhattisgarh. Of these, voting for Raipur Lok Sabha seat was held on 24 April 2014 under the third phase. This election was mainly seeing a fight between the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress. While BJP made Ramesh Bais its candidate from here, Satya Narayan Sharma (Sattu Bhaiya) contested from Congress’s side. The results of all Lok Sabha seats across the country were declared simultaneously on 16 May 2014. In this, BJP leader Ramesh Bais won the election from Raipur Lok Sabha seat. Bais secured around 633836 votes in the election. Congress candidate Satya Narayan Sharma (Sattu Bhaiyya) stood second by securing 471803 votes.

2019 election and its equations

Talking about the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, this time also the elections were conducted in three phases only. Like last time, the third phase of voting in Raipur Lok Sabha seat was held on 23 April 2019. The dominance of Bharatiya Janata Party was seen in this election also. This time also the Congress candidate presented his strong claim in front of the Bharatiya Janata Party. Although in 2019, BJP made Sunil Soni its candidate from Raipur seat after seeing Ramesh Bais not getting the ticket, while Congress also made Pramod Dubey its candidate in place of Satyanarayan Sharma. In the election results declared on 23 May 2019, BJP candidate Sunil Soni got 837902 votes, while Congress candidate Pramod Dubey, who stood second, got 489664 votes.

What does the politics of Raipur seat say?

Talking about Raipur Lok Sabha seat, Bharatiya Janata Party has dominated here for many decades. In this also, Ramesh Bais himself has been MP 7 times. Ramesh Bais became MP for the first time from Raipur seat in 1989. After this, in the elections held in 1991, Vidyacharan Shukla of Congress got a chance to become MP from Raipur seat. Again when Lok Sabha elections were held in 1996, Ramesh Bais won. After this election, Ramesh Bais never looked back. After 1996, Ramesh Bais won the Raipur seat consecutively in 1998, 1999, 2004, 2009 and 2014. However, in the 2019 elections, Bharatiya Janata Party made Sunil Soni its candidate on Raipur seat and he also led Bharatiya Janata Party to victory here.

Latest India News


Most Popular

Recent Comments