Sunday, February 25, 2024
HomeSports NewsAdelaide Strikers won second Women's BBL title, defeated Brisbane Heat in the...

Adelaide Strikers won second Women’s BBL title, defeated Brisbane Heat in the final

Image Source : GETTY
adelaide strikers

The final match of the 9th season of the Women’s Big Bash League was played between Adelaide Strikers and Brisbane Heat at the Adelaide Oval. In this match, the Adelaide team, under the captaincy of Tahlia McGrath, showed brilliant performance and defeated Brisbane by a narrow margin of 3 runs and won the title for the second consecutive time. Adelaide Strikers women’s team had also won this trophy last season. In the final match, Amanda Jade Wallington bowled brilliantly for Adelaide and took 3 wickets giving 16 runs in four overs.

Adelaide team managed to reach only a score of 125.

In the final match, Adelaide’s captain decided to bat first after winning the toss. However, the first blow to the team came in the form of Katy Mac on the score of 5. After this, Valvedart and Captain McGrath together took the score to 71 runs within 10 overs. From here, the Brisbane Heat bowlers started taking wickets at regular intervals to make their team’s comeback, due to which the Adelaide Strikers team could not score runs quickly in the last overs. In this match for Adelaide, Valverde scored 39 runs while captain McGrath scored 38 runs. Apart from this, the third highest score of 11 runs was made by Bridget Patterson. Adelaide team managed to reach the score of 125 at the loss of 5 wickets in 20 overs. In bowling for Brisbane, Nicola Hancock took 3 wickets while giving 23 runs in his 4 overs.

Amelia Kerr played an inning of 30 runs, but could not win.

Brisbane Heat team, which came to chase the target of 126 runs, had a good start and they lost their first wicket at the score of 32. However, from here the team continued to face setbacks at frequent intervals. Amelia Kerr definitely controlled the innings from one end but she could not get the support of her teammates from the other end. Brisbane team could only manage to reach the score of 122 in 20 overs and their dream of winning the title was shattered by 3 runs. While Amanda Jade Wallington took 3 wickets for Adelaide, Megan Shutt and Tahlia McGrath took 2-2 while Gemma Barsby took 1 wicket.

read this also

165 players got place in the auction list of WPL 2024, only 30 will shine.

BAN vs NZ: Bangladesh made a big upset, defeated New Zealand for the first time in Test at home

Latest Cricket News


Most Popular

Recent Comments