Monday, June 10, 2024
HomeIndia NewsBJP won 8 seats in UP, big blow to Congress in Himachal...

BJP won 8 seats in UP, big blow to Congress in Himachal but Karnataka saved its shame – India TV Hindi

Image Source : PTI
BJP leaders expressing happiness over victory in Rajya Sabha elections

Rajya Sabha Elections 2024 Results : The results of 15 Rajya Sabha seats in three states have been very shocking. There was massive cross voting and those whose victory seemed certain lost and those whose defeat seemed certain won. In Uttar Pradesh, BJP managed to win 8 out of 10 seats, while Samajwadi Party won two seats. In Karnataka, Congress won three Rajya Sabha seats, while in Himachal it suffered a major setback. Congress candidate Abhishek Manu Singhvi had to face defeat on the Himachal seat.

BJP flag in UP

In UP, BJP candidates won 8 out of 10 Rajya Sabha seats while two Samajwadi Party candidates were declared victorious. A total of 11 candidates were in the fray for 10 seats in Uttar Pradesh. SP had fielded three candidates while BJP had initially fielded seven candidates but later it also fielded an eighth candidate in the form of Sanjay Seth. Due to which elections became necessary.

These candidates won in UP

The 8 BJP candidates who won include former Union Minister R.P.N. Singh, former MP Chaudhary Tejveer Singh, General Secretary of the party’s Uttar Pradesh unit Amarpal Maurya, former Minister of State Sangeeta Balwant (Bind), party spokesperson Sudhanshu Trivedi. , former MLA Sadhna Singh, former mayor of Agra Naveen Jain and Sanjay Seth. SP had fielded actress-MP Jaya Bachchan, retired Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer and former Chief Secretary of Uttar Pradesh Alok Ranjan and Dalit leader Ramji Lal Suman. Of these, Alok Ranjan had to face defeat.

Big blow to Congress in Himachal

There was a very interesting contest on a Rajya Sabha seat of Himachal. There was a contest between Congress and BJP here. It was believed that Abhishek Manu Singhvi would win easily. Here BJP had made Harsh Mahajan its candidate. Both got 34-34 votes. After this, a slip was drawn through the lottery system and Harsh Mahajan’s name appeared in the slip. Six Congress MLAs did cross voting in this election.

Karnataka saved the honor of Congress

Voting took place for four Rajya Sabha seats in Karnataka. Here Congress won three seats while one seat went to BJP. Party treasurer Ajay Maken, GC Chandrashekhar and Syed Naseer Hussain won from the Congress side. Narayan Bandge won from BJP’s side. Five candidates were in the fray for four seats in Karnataka, including Janata Dal (Secular) candidate D. Kupendra Reddy. ‘Cross voting’ took place in the election and one of the BJP MLAs, S.T. Somashekhar, voted for Congress’s Ajay Maken while the other MLA, A. Shivaram Hebbar, abstained. (input-agency)

Latest India News


Most Popular

Recent Comments