Tuesday, June 18, 2024
HomeIndia NewsLok Sabha Election 2024: What has been the history of Mainpuri Lok...

Lok Sabha Election 2024: What has been the history of Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat, the stronghold of SP? – India TV Hindi

Image Source : INDIA TV
What has been the history of Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat, the stronghold of SP?

Among the 80 Lok Sabha seats of UP, one seat is very important, which is called Mainpuri. Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat is known as the stronghold of Samajwadi Party. This seat is very special for the SP family. Because since 1996, only Samajwadi Party candidates have been winning in Mainpuri continuously. Mulayam Singh Yadav won the election from this seat three times and twice in the by-election held after he left the seat, once his nephew Dharmendra Yadav and then his grandson Tej Pratap Yadav won the election and became MP. In the Lok Sabha elections held in the year 2019, Mulayam Singh Yadav was again elected MP from Mainpuri. However, after this Mulayam Singh Yadav died, after which his daughter-in-law Dimple Yadav was elected MP from here in the by-election. But BJP has worked hard in the last few years to ensure its claim on this seat.

What were the results of the 2014 elections?

From Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat, Samajwadi Party patron Mulayam Singh Yadav defeated BJP candidate Shatrughan Chauhan by 364666 votes. Let us tell you that at this time there was Modi wave across the country, but its significant impact was not seen on Mainpuri seat. However, after this Mulayam Singh Yadav resigned from this seat. When by-elections were held here, Tej Pratap Yadav had also won from this seat by more than three lakh votes.

What was the number of voters in 2014?

If we talk about the figures of Lok Sabha elections held in 2014, there are approximately 17.3 lakh voters here. In this, most of the voters belong to Yadav caste. According to statistics, 35 percent of the total voters are Yadavs. At the second place are Rajput, Chauhan, Rathore, Bhadauria, who are 29 percent of the total voters. After this there are Shakya, Brahmin, SC and Muslim voters.

What were the results of the 2019 elections?

If we talk about Lok Sabha elections 2019, here BJP had again fielded Prem Singh Shakya. Mulayam Singh Yadav once again contested from SP’s legacy seat Mainpuri. During this period, Mulayam Singh Yadav got 524926 votes, while Prem Singh Shakya got 230537 votes. Once again Mulayam Singh Yadav won from this seat and BJP remained at second position in Mainpuri. However, after the death of Mulayam Singh Yadav in 2022, by-elections were held here. In this election, daughter-in-law Dimple Yadav won by more than 2.88 lakh votes. During this period, BJP’s Raghuraj Shakya got 329659 votes, while Dimple Yadav got 618120 votes.

What were the election results in 2009?

In the Lok Sabha elections 2009, Mulayam Singh Yadav was in the electoral fray from Samajwadi Party. He had won this seat with a huge vote and the BJP candidate had to face defeat.

Latest India News


Most Popular

Recent Comments